Candy Bar, Electric Lights: The Scroll Stories of Sean Karemaker

Exhibition Reception: Saturday January 19, 2 – 4 p.m. Artist Talk: Saturday February 2, 2 – 3 p.m. | Virtual Reality Experience: Saturday February 16, 2 – 3:30 p.m.


In Candy Bar, Electric Lights, Vancouver-based artist Sean Karemaker shows original drawings from his most recent graphic novel, Feast of Fields. This deeply personal narrative series draws from his experience growing up in BC as well as his mother’s childhood in Denmark, focusing on the year she lived in an orphanage with her brothers. With elements of magic realism, this moving work winds together memory, family history, and imagination. The narrative unfolds over 14 six-foot black and white drawings that encircle the gallery; each meticulously detailed paper scroll flowing into the next. This exhibition offers visitors three different ways to experience Feast of Fields: visitors can tour the gallery and experience the story visually by viewing the wordless scrolls, they can read it with text in its completed book form, and they can plunge themselves in the world Karemaker has created by experiencing the story in virtual reality (VR) during a special afternoon when Karemaker will be present at the gallery. Using VR to place the viewer inside his narrative as a witness, Karemaker gives them the autonomy to explore the story as they desire. Being immersed in a 360° environment, viewers begin to experience the story themselves; by sharing space with the story’s characters, viewers may develop a deeper sense of understanding or empathy. Karemaker's stories and characters weave through the immersive tableaus he has constructed, bringing the viewer along with them. His intricate illustrated pieces encourage visitors to pause, explore, and be curious. Sean Karemaker is an artist living in Vancouver, BC. He obtained a diploma in graphic design from Malaspina University-College in 2002 and has worked in illustration, graphic design, and 3D design for video games, in addition to his career as an artist and author working in comics, drawing, painting, and murals. His graphic novel Feast of Fields was recently included in CBC Books's top 16 Canadian comics of 2018. On Saturday, February 16, 2019 from 2 – 3:30 p.m., join Artist Sean Karemaker and explore Feast of Fields in virtual reality. Space in this VR demonstration is limited, and registration is required. For full details and registration, please visit our website.
 Image credit: Sean Karemaker, Esbjerg Orphanage (detail), ink on paper, 6’ x 1.5,’ 2018
 For more information, please contact curator/director Vanessa Black at 604-924-1378 or curator@seymourartgallery.com. The Seymour Art Gallery is a non-profit, public gallery located in the heart of Deep Cove at 4360 Gallant Ave.

Saturday, January 12, 2019 -
10:00am to 5:00pm
Add to Calendar
Date: 
Thu, Jan 24, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Jan 25, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Jan 26, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Jan 27, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Tue, Jan 29, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Jan 30, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Jan 31, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Feb 1, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Feb 2, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Feb 3, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Tue, Feb 5, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Feb 6, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Feb 7, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Feb 8, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Feb 9, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Feb 10, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Tue, Feb 12, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Feb 13, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Feb 14, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Feb 15, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Feb 16, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Feb 17, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Tue, Feb 19, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Feb 20, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Feb 21, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Feb 22, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Feb 23, 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
Contact name: 
Seymour Art Gallery
Contact phone: 
604 924 1378
Location: 
Seymour Art Gallery
Home > Notices, Events & Blog > North Vancouver Events Calendar > Candy Bar, Electric Lights: The Scroll Stories of Sean Karemaker