Rydel Cerezo: Home Sweet Home

Brother Armand Lammineur was a Roman Catholic missionary who travelled from Belgium to the Philippines, photographing extensively from the late 1930s until his death in the early 2000s. Many of his photographs were taken in or near the mountainous city of Baguio, where a seminary called “Home Sweet Home” housed Belgian priests on mission. Baguio is also the birthplace of artist Rydel Cerezo.

Cerezo would discover Lammineur’s photographs of Baguio decades later, in Belgium, as he happened to be dating a member of Lammineur’s extended family. He would go on to learn that members of his own family knew the priest. Intersecting across time and place, these coincidences undergird a cross-cultural archive, one that encompasses both photographers: Lammineur as a visitor to the Philippines; and Cerezo as a guest in Belgium, also working at home in community with fellow queer Filipinx-Canadians. The two photographers’ depictions of Filipinx bodies exist at once in tension and in dialogue, variously contradicting and echoing each other.

Filipinx subjects are central figures in this exhibition, seen from different vantages: through Lammineur’s camera, as seminarians to be indoctrinated; in Cerezo’s lens, as intimate friends and collaborators; from Cerezo’s first-person perspective, as a queer Filipinx person questioning the ethics of archive creation, and its capacity to convey the nuances of lived, diasporic experience. Across original photographs and vintage images collaged with found material, Cerezo’s autobiographical new work is a profound meditation on home, compassion, and belonging.

Rydel Cerezo (b. 1996, Baguio, Philippines) is a visual artist who lives and works in Vancouver. Cerezo’s work investigates the spaces between sexuality, religion, and race. They are interested in how these disparate themes metaphorically and visually coalesce. Cerezo was shortlisted for Philip B. Lind Emerging Artist Prize (2020) and longlisted for the Sobey Art Award (2022).

Friday, September 30, 2022 - 10:00am to 5:00pm
Add to Calendar
Date: 
Wed, Oct 5, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Oct 6, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Oct 7, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Oct 8, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Oct 9, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Oct 12, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Oct 13, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Oct 14, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Oct 15, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Oct 16, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Oct 19, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Oct 20, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Oct 21, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Oct 22, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Oct 23, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Oct 26, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Oct 27, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Oct 28, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Oct 29, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Oct 30, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Nov 2, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Nov 3, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Nov 4, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Nov 5, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Nov 6, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Nov 9, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Nov 10, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Nov 11, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Nov 12, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Nov 13, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Nov 16, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Nov 17, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Nov 18, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Nov 19, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Nov 20, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Nov 23, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Nov 24, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Nov 25, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Nov 26, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Nov 27, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Nov 30, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Dec 1, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Dec 2, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Dec 3, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Dec 4, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, Dec 7, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Thu, Dec 8, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Fri, Dec 9, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sat, Dec 10, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Sun, Dec 11, 2022 10:00am to 5:00pm
Cost: 
Admission is by donation
Location: 
The Polygon
Home > Notices, Events & Blog > North Vancouver Events Calendar > Rydel Cerezo: Home Sweet Home